Speak with an experienced Virginia Traffic Attorney
At the Flynn Law Firm, we recognize how serious traffic crimes are, and how they can affect you and your livelihood. They can cause problems with employers, education, and many of these charges have serious
collateral consequences, such as the loss of employment, or the loss of your Virginia driving privileges.
Speeding tickets are a nuisance. Period. You received a speeding ticket and now you are wondering if it is worth it to defend against it. The
Flynn Law Firm can appear on your behalf and handle your case on your behalf. As your attorney, we will be able to negotiate with the prosecutor to resolve the case in your favor and present any evidence or
mitigation for you as well. If you are in need of representation for a speeding ticket or traffic infraction, contact the Flynn Law Firm today to
Speeding in Virginia is an infraction, which means that there is no possibility of jail, and you do not even need to appear in court to defend yourself! However, in the Commonwealth of Virginia, when someone
is (1) caught driving 20 miles or more than the posted speed limit, or (2) driving faster than 80 miles per hour, they may be found guilty of Reckless Driving, which is a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
Virginia treats Reckless Driving as a serious offense. Depending on the circumstances, jurisdiction and speed, there is a very real possibility of jail time.
Speeding is not the only manner in which Reckless Driving can be charged. If you drive aggressively, fail to signal or yield, follow too closely or drive to fast for conditions you may be charged with Reckless
Driving as well.
Reckless Driving is a serious offense. It is something that you should absolutely take seriously, especially in the Commonwealth of Virginia! Whether you live here,
or were driving through, you should understand that the risk of jail time is real! Contact our office immediately to set up a consultation with an experienced reckless driving attorney. We
will set up a consultation to discuss your case and possible defenses, either in person or on the phone.
Driving on a Suspended License
Driving on a suspended license is a serious criminal offense in Virginia, a Class 1 Misdemeanor. Driving on a suspended license
occurs where (1) someone’s license is suspended, (2) they were given notice of that suspension, and (3) they continue to drive. The most typical reasons that people’s licenses are suspended in Virginia is
due to a failure to pay their court fines and costs.
Whenever someone is convicted of a crime, they have 30 days to pay their court fines and costs. Failure to make full payment by the end of the 30 days, or to enter into a payment plan will result in the person’s
driver’s license to be suspended, if they are a Virginia resident. If the person who has not paid their court fines and costs is not a Virginia resident, then only their driving privileges to drive in Virginia
are suspended – their home state privileges won’t be directly affected by the failure to pay the court fines and costs.
Subsequent infractions of driving on a suspended license can prove to be very costly. In Virginia, a third offense has an automatic, mandatory minimum sentence of 10 days in jail! And
regardless of the outcome, a guilty conviction under this charge will have a mandatory additional period of suspension added on to your current suspension as well.
Driving Under the Influence
One of the most serious driving convictions that anyone can receive is driving under the influence of drugs and / or alcohol. Depending on the circumstances, the penalties can range from no jail time at all,
to mandatory sentences. In Virginia, all DUI convictions will come with 1 year of suspension of your driving privileges, as well required VASAP classes.
In addition to these collateral consequences, a First Offense is a Class 1 Misdemeanor with no mandatory jail time.